Fix GoToMeeting and GoToWebinar recordings for Camtasia

Fix GoToMeeting and GoToWebinar recordings for Camtasia

Thanks to a post on Twitter, I just became aware of this YouTube video about GoToMeeting/GoToWebinar recordings in Camtasia.  Once you remove the GoToMeeting codec from your recording you get a WMV file, this file does not always play well with Camtasia and you may have trouble editing it.  The following video explains how to correct any time code issues the WMV file has so that you can edit it normally in Camtasia.

I’d like to offer a huge THANK YOU to DonnaMarrie the author of this video, I am sure it will help a lot of people.

7 thoughts on “Fix GoToMeeting and GoToWebinar recordings for Camtasia

  1. This post is no longer current. It looks like Microsoft discontinued/replaced some of the tools mentioned in this video. I don’t know enough about the technology to know what the exact replacement is, or if it even works with Camtasia. But thought I’d at least point this out.

    The one thing I do know…getting GoToWebinar WMV recordings to work with Camtasia has frustrated us for YEARS. While TechSmith may not have the $$$’s/resources to make a dent in this problem, shouldn’t Citrix have solved this long ago?!?

  2. The most reliable way I have found to address this problem is to re-record the GoToMeeting/GoToWebinar file using the Camtasia screen recorder function. You have to be careful to disable your screensaver and make sure your monitor is set to NOT turn off or dim. And then while the file is playing and being captured by Camtasia Recorder, you cannot touch your computer. It’s a drag to do this process but it works quite well. The results in terms of video and audio quality are excellent and you end up with a file that is perfectly compatible with Camtasia Editor. (I totally agree that Citrix should address this problem!)

    1. I have a .WMV from GoToMeeting, and I’ve got Camtasia 7. Unfortunately, the Microsoft Expression Encoder 4 trick did not work for me. I will have to revert to the option where I play the .WMV and use Camtasia to record the window.

Leave a Reply

